Life Cycle - Human Biology (KB)
Post Lab 

  • Investigating body growth.
  • Exploring how teeth grow. 
  • growth
  • teeth

Students look at their teeth.


Each person has two sets of teeth during his lifetime.  The first set (baby teeth) is called the milk or deciduous teeth.  They begin to erupt at six months and one appears about each month thereafter until all twenty have erupted.  The deciduous teeth are lost between the ages of 6-13.  

The second set of teeth is called the permanent set.  These appear between the ages of 6 and 17 with the exception of the wisdom teeth.  There are 32 teeth in the permanent set.  They are named according to their shape and function.  The incisors are shaped like chisels and serve to cut food.  The canines are pointed and used to tear and shred food.  The premolars crush and tear food.  The molars crush and grind food. The last molar tooth in each side of the jaw is called a wisdom tooth, which erupts between the ages of 17 and 25 or in some cases may never erupt.  

The teeth are part of the digestive system.  They begin the breakdown of food.  The teeth are considered an accessory organ, because one can live without teeth.

  1. Read the recommended book or other appropriate book. 
  2. Hand out the worksheet and see if students can find which picture is reflected of their own teeth.

    ANSWERS: A = 6 months; B = 3 years; C= 5 years; D = 7 years; E = 9 years; and F = 15 years

[Back to Life Cycle Grid]  [Back to Human Biology (K)]